Bumped (again):Good afternoon, everyone. I was pretty sure I wasn't going to make a post about summer school @ Sullivan High, but that changed today. I saw a couple of things. For one, this morning, when my class and I were in the cafeteria for breakfast, one of the students from our class chose to sit near a table of a bunch rough looking in-coming freshmen (why he chose to remains unanswered to me, but I think he wanted to sit by the girls). They said a bad word, which made the student say "watch your mouth!" (I guess he doesn't like when people swear). They laughed at him and looked like they were talking about him.
That personally made me angry because he's got Autism (he's not as high functioning as I am, but he is pretty smart), so he didn't deserved to be laughed at. That's just one of his habits (and it's not his fault), to tell others what to do. So, anyway, these kids started getting loud and rowdy. This pissed off a couple of the teachers who were monitoring their activities before their classes started (well, they weren't in there when the first incident happened). The kids were yelled at.
That's not all that happened today. I personally witnessed a fight between two in-coming freshmen getting broken up. I don't know if they were arrested or punished for their actions. I kind of hope they were, so that can show them our staff at Sullivan doesn't take none of that nonsense from kids. Our staff has had to break up fights the whole 2008-2009 school year, so I'm sure they're sick of it by now.
To the Sullivan staff (I know you're reading this): Please, tell these 8th graders about our Autism program. They need to know that we're not "weird" or "stupid". If these 8th graders thought they were coming to a school with no Special needs kids, they were wrong. Dead wrong. Our school consists of two Autism rooms. So, to the school staff, take the time to explain to the 8th graders about us. Better yet, to the staff, you should let them sit in on us for a day. Maybe then they'll realize that we're none of the names that we're called.
If anybody asks why I didn't say anything to these kids, it's because that's not my job. That's the staff's responsibility. I feel that my teachers would've addressed it, but I forgot to tell them (since there were like 100 things going on at once, LOL). If this happens again tomorrow, I'll tell the teachers/aides or I'll say something myself. This does not deserve to happen. These kids should be focusing on their own business/school work rather than picking on a group of disabled kids.
UPDATE, 7/15/09: Yet another incident of kids in our class being made fun of happened this morning. This time, it happened as the kids, along with myself, on my bus route were waiting for a security guard to open the door so we could come into the school. One of the kids likes to sing in Spanish, and another kid in the program likes to as well but picks up on it slowly. I guess for whatever reason, it made a girl standing nearby to say "Man, they're SLOW!" followed by something I couldn't hear. Two other girls standing with her laughed. I shot them a very nasty glare and that shut them up. I was half tempted to cuss them out, but I had three other disabled kids with me who don't need to hear any foul language. Like I said last time, the staff really needs to say something to these 8th graders (yes, they were 8th graders) who think they're "tough" or "cool" by making fun of kids with Autism. How would they like it if they had our disability and were made fun of? I'm sure they wouldn't like it one bit. I may sound whiny to some here, but this is how I feel. It just makes me so angry when disabled people are made fun of. These 8th graders need to mind their own business and focus on becoming a freshmen in high school. But, that's ok. If I see an 8th grader who has made fun of my classmates get in trouble by a staff member, I'm going to laugh at them, right in front of them, to show them how we feel when we're teased. Now, I wouldn't of care if I were by myself and they laughed at only me because I usually don't care what people think of me, but due to the fact they made fun of my classmates is what makes me mad. And my classmates (most of them) can't even defend theirselves to say anything back. They don't know how to.
UPDATE, 7/22/09: A student that has been laughing at kids in my class got what was coming to him today. At around 10:30am, he was sitting in the disciplinarian's office, arms folded and looking mad. As I walked past, I noticed him, laughed at him because he was in there and he got what was coming to him, then continued onto my business.
Thanks,
- Timmy AKA AvondaleLoganSquareCrimeBlotter